Coming of Age

Picture this: Small-town girl’s best friend moves away the summer before high school starts. Small-town girl is insecure, introverted, and lonely. New neighbor moves in across the street: It’s another rising freshman from New York City. New girl is everything Small-town girl wants to be: pretty, talented, popular. They become unlikely friends. School starts: Cue the drama. New girl gets noticed by a member of the basketball team and invites her to high school party. Both girls go, and New girl gets raped by 3 boys on the team. Small-town girl wants to tell someone; New girl makes her promise to keep quiet. Small-town girl struggles with the decision to be loyal to New girl and keep her friendship or be honest and tell someone what happened and get New girl the help she needs. New girl begins drinking, smoking, cutting, and sleeping around. Drama ensues. The girls fight. New-girl climbs to the top of a water tower during a storm and dies. Did she fall? Did she jump? Small-town girl doesn’t know. Guilt eats away at her. She blames herself. She can’t handle the guilt. She starts cutting. She starts failing her classes. She climbs to the top of the water tower, and…she realizes she wants to live and decides to ask for help. She turns her life around. She comes of age.

purple storm kindle edition

Sound like just the kind of angst-filled story your students will love? Mine did. I read the novel over the course of a week and my students begged – begged, pleaded, cajoled – every day to continue the story. They loved it even more when they learned it was inspired by actual events. When it ended, they were devastated. They demanded more be written. I asked them what could make it better: they gave feedback. Based on that feedback, I crafted a revised version of the novel. That’s right, I wrote this story, and used feedback from the target audience (young adults) to make the book everything they wanted it to be.

It’s short (just 124 pages in paperback), readable, and engaging.

purple storm paperback edition

Buy a copy and see if you think your students will like it, then buy a copy for your classroom. Or, just buy a copy for your classroom and see what happens when one of them picks it up. Who knows, if it becomes a hit, you could even do a whole unit on it (which I’ve created – comprehension questions, vocabulary, graphic organizers, discussion questions, quizzes, and a test – everything you need).

If you teach a non-English subject, pass the information along to your English-teaching colleagues. They’ll thank you!

Novel - Purple Storm

Here are the links to the novel:

To buy paperback

To buy on Kindle

To buy the unit on TpT

2 thoughts on “Coming of Age

    • It was! I was so nervous at first. I didn’t tell them I wrote it when we started. I was so worried they wouldn’t like it. But then we kept reading and they loved it! They started asking questions about the characters and other stuff and then I finally told them I had written it, and they were so amazed! They were really upset when it ended; they wanted the story to go on. It was good to know they’d connected with the character and wanted to learn what happened to her. And it was really great that they were honest about what needed to be changed/added/etc. so that the story would be better. It was a very cool experience. And they asked me to read them other stuff I’d written, so I read a little bit from my adult fiction novel, and they hated it, which made me feel good that 1) they were being honest when they said they’d liked the YA book and 2) I had done a good job with the style of writing and targeting the YA audience, because the adult fiction book wasn’t designed for them. I’m close to finishing my novella and I wish I were still in the classroom to read it to them so I could get more feedback, as it’s also designed for the YA audience. Thanks for your comment!

      Like

Join the conversation!

